In Arrears

I’d just gone through my short story for the Dadaoist Anthology on a library computer in order to respond at once to the editor, Quentin. It was wearing even for me but reading on computer is wearing so I can believe it wouldn’t otherwise be wearing for me but it will be for any reader since it realises an intense unconscious duologue that’s beyond the usual scope of even the cleverest consciousness, like Quentin’s. Oh dear. Justin Isis, however, told him it was dadaist and it is that and probably Daoist to boot. So there.

Back home was a letter from Richmond Housing Partnership, the landlord. It said as agreed I’d pay off arrears by direct debit each month in the new financial year. I was incensed. My head ballooned. How could I still be paying off arrears? Nor had I ever agreed to pay them off monthly. I hadn’t incurred them in the first place. The mistake was RHP’s in not taking the rent after the last financial year began, and, once it hadn’t, not then being able to unless the bank closed the direct debit to it and reopened the exactly same direct debit to it. I’d agreed to have the whole of the arrears cleared at once but was told they’d be taken by the month. I emailed it to revert to what had been agreed and was ignored.

I referred to the diktat letter, the terms of which implied the arrears by RHP’s never admitted mistake would be paid off in this financial year, with a month to spare.

I took all relevant documents to the library in the afternoon but while I was able to access my account with RHP I couldn’t contact it. A small oblong did appear but couldn’t be expanded or entered. Nothing for it but to bus it to Waldegrave Rd where RHP built itself a mansion.

My guns were spiked by being offered a hand to shake by the rents adviser. I said what the matter was, laying out three letters in their chronological order to reveal it and added several times I was incensed. He couldn’t understand the last letter either and went off to check everything out. Apparently it wasn’t the accountant’s mistake; she’d been inputted wrongly and simply carried on with what pertained this year. Except it didn’t since the arrears had already been paid off by February. “Human error,” I said forgivingly since I was actually in credit. He’s emailed the accountant. Let’s hope that corrects things though I wouldn’t put yet another human error past RHP since it’s prone to making them.

To avoid anything such, I’ve emailed the customer liaison officer to look into it and have her finance dept send me a letter it will only debit the rent due come April, the start of the new financial year.

About johnbrucecairns

I'm a retired history teacher who's written for most of his life with a book readied for publication.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

