The Fall

I was thinking what next in my diary and thought to check the heating was on at the radiator so got up sideways from the chair I sat on. The other chair was slightly on edge to the console table and I may have taken a step to avoid that impedance while turning left towards the radiator’s regulating tap. My footing couldn’t have been secure because I found myself surprisingly listing and while falling failed to right my balance. I wasn’t understanding how this could be happening. In my fall my leg crashed against the open glass door of the base the TV sat on, fortunately not smashing it against the bookcase where I hit my head, slowing its descent on the right that thus twisted my neck too abruptly on the left, cricking it. My right arm grazed the case and was skinned without bleeding through the cashmere as if by a fish slice foil. It took a while to realise that and apply vaseline because the back of my head hurt more, though the acute pain soon sublimed leaving a residual soreness. The arm also had a swelling black bruise at the base of the graze where the skin that’d been covering the area lay corrugated. I must’ve been concussed because I only woke up once in the night. I then bumped my forehead on the can opener fixed to the kitchen wall and there’s a sore lump on my heel. John wept, hoping I’m not pegging out after he’s only just found me.

About johnbrucecairns

I'm a retired history teacher who's written for most of his life with a book readied for publication.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

