Trap Sprung

The bad penny turned up early to my annoyance. His bolthole owner hadn’t returned from making a court plea. From phoning the court I found out his hearing was adjourned till January and he was being held in custody. Since John doesn’t have a key to let himself back into the top of the block flat and nowhere much else to go except a friend with innumerable dogs, I’m stuck with him who thinks the police won’t be back here and is maybe right but now they know of a connexion won’t they at least ask the local lot to keep a lookout? I told John I do not like being criminalised. But what do I do? I’m stuck with him. I can hardly freeze him out in his circumstances. He has nowhere to go except to hand himself in and he left before a parole hearing that would probably have had him released shortly to housing and benefits. I can’t imagine a parole board would advise that now or that his sentence won’t be increased. He can’t face years more inside. I doubt his solicitor will come up with anything constructive but seeing her is next on his agenda and mine. I’ve made a copy of his probation letter. Well, thanks for the respite, but this situation is worse than before.

About johnbrucecairns

I'm a retired history teacher who's written for most of his life with a book readied for publication.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

